APA Style, 7th Edition

When citing an individual section of larger work such as a volume of essays or a reference work, the author and title of the individual section must be given before the title, and the editor of the larger work, if applicable. Utilize the following guidelines described in section 10.3 of APA:

• Give the author's name.   
• Publication date in parentheses
• Title of the specific section or chapter followed by a period.  Do not place quotation marks around the section title. 
• Place the word In before giving the editor and title of the larger work where the section is found.
• If the larger work has an editor, list the name of the editor(s) followed by the abbreviation Ed. or Eds. in parentheses and followed by a comma.
• Give the complete title of the multivolume work in italics.
• If the work has more than one volume, place the volume number immediately before the page numbers followed by a comma.
• In parentheses give the page numbers where the specific section is found followed by a period.
• Place the publisher name at the end of the citation followed by a period.
• A DOI if available or URL if applicable are placed at the end without a period.

Sometimes you may use only a single chapter or essay from a larger book by a single-author.  In those instances, APA indicates to include a reference citation for the entire work. The parenthetical citation should note the specific chapter number cited as indicated in APA section 8.13.

R: Cone, S.D. (2018). Theology from the Great Tradition. Bloomsbury T & T Clark.

P: (Cone 2018, chapter 3)

Here is an example for citing a specific article in a one volume theological encyclopedia:

R: Morris, L. L. (1996). Death. In R. W. Wood (Ed.), New Bible dictionary (3rd ed., pp. 265-267). InterVarsity Press.

P: (Morris, 1996, p. 266)

Here is an example for citing a specific article in an abridged theological encyclopedia such as the one-volume Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, frequently referred to as Little Kittel. This example also includes a translator as shown in APA 10.3 example 42.

R: Kuhn, K. G. (1985). Marantha (G. W. Bromiley, Trans.). In G. Kittel (Ed.), Theological dictionary of the New Testament (pp. 563-564). Eerdmans.

P: (Kuhn, 1985, p. 563)

Citations for a chapter or essay in an ebook or an article from an online reference work such as Sage Knowledge should be formatted according to section 10.3.  A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is preferred when available as shown in the example below and in APA 10.3 example 38.

R: Matheson, V. (2006). Poverty gap index. In M. Odekon (Ed.), Encyclopedia of world poverty (pp. 844-845). SAGE.  https://doi.org/10.4135/9781412939607.n547

P: (Matheson, 2006, paragraph 3)

When using only a chapter of an ebook found via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Ebrary, or PsycBOOKS, this model would be followed. Items from an academic research databases do not require the use of a URL but do require a DOI if available. 

R: Gottman, J. M., & Gottman, J. S. (2013). Difficulties with clients in Gottman method couples therapy. In Transforming negative reactions to clients: From frustration to compassion (pp. 91-112).  American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/13940-004

P: (Gottman and Gottman, 2013, p. 95)