Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Borrow

Information about how to borrow resources from the Jessie C. Eury Library.

Reference Collection

Some books are in the Reference Collection which is located on the first floor of the Jessie C. Eury Library. 

Reference books have an R at the beginning of the Call Number as seen below. 

Reference Book

The Reference Collection includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, atlases, concordances, and other items that may be needed for a short period of time. Most reference books may not be checked out of the library.

Commentaries

The Jessie C. Eury Library has numerous biblical commentaries to support students and faculty at Lincoln Christian University. 

A biblical commentary is an explanation or exegesis of a book or passage in the Bible. Commentaries:

  • Vary in purpose such as for in-depth study, a devotional emphasis, teaching, preaching, or a special focus.
  • Use Greek, Hebrew, and/or English texts.
  • Cover a wide range of theological positions.

Many commentaries are shelved in the Reference Collection.

Reference Collection commentaries:

  • Use the original biblical languages for exegesis.
  • Are considered critical or technical for comprehensive study or research.
  • Typically include footnotes and a bibliography of resources.
  • Provide the resources needed for an exegetical paper assignment.

Reference commentaries may be used in the Library.

Course Reserves

Reserve Items:

  • Some professors place items on Reserve at the Library Service Desk so that everyone in a class may read an assigned or recommended reading.
  • Check out items for 2 hours in-library use. During Fall 2020, you must wear gloves and a mask while using course reserves in the Library. 
  • Some reserves can be checked out of the Library for a limited amount of time. During Fall 2020, any reserve item that leaves the Library must be quarantined for at least 72 hours before the item can be used by someone else. 
  • Professors designate the check out time period.

Reserve items may be renewed one time.

Please return reserve items directly to the Jessie C. Eury Library Service Desk.