Intercultural Studies Research Guide

This work fills the gap in research and documentation of the Christian missions spanning nearly 2,000 years of world history. It covers Christian missionary work with more than 2,400 original signed biographies by 350 scholars from 45 countries.

The Dictionary of Mission Theology is the first reference book of its kind to reflect the new world of mission. With the majority of its 160-plus articles written by contributors from the Majority World, it reflects a variety of global contexts. The missiological implications of central Christian doctrines are explored, and a range of new perspectives are highlighted and weighed. Along with affirmations of time-tested foundations, one will find here original contributions to missiological thought, challenges to traditional views of mission, and an invitation to creatively integrate evangelism, liberation, healing and justice.

The first comprehensive, one-volume reference work to consider the history of world missions and contemporary study of the subject from an evangelical perspective.

The Encyclopedia of Missions and Missionaries examines the nature and effects of missionary work around the world and throughout history, analyzing how secular and clerical people from major religions (especially Christianity, Buddhism and Islam) have brought social changes along with words of a new faith.

Provides maps, charts, and a variety of data tracking World Christian trends.

Now in a 3rd edition, this volume presents a comprehensive overview of contemporary Christianity in all its many versions and in both its religious and secular contexts.

This four volume encyclopedia includes articles on the religious beliefs of specific countries as well as entries on specific religions, sub-groups within religions, and places of religious importance. Articles are arranged alphabetically.

"Discover the world with CultureGrams, concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations, from Afghanistan to Zimbabwe. Local experts document the intimate details of each country's customs, traditions, and daily life, with unique perspectives on culture ranging from attitudes, greetings, and gestures, to the arts, recreation, daily diet, and more."

This three-volume encyclopedia focuses on how secular and religious holidays are celebrated in countries around the world. Volumes 1 and 2 contain an alphabetical list of all world countries and the celebrations within that country while volume 3 provides background information on holidays and religions.

This four volume encyclopedia covers all the world's nations and is organized in alphabetical order.

This 10 volume set focuses on specific people groups rather than countries. When using this resource, look up the country in the index to find the volume and page number of the specific people group. Be aware that the name of a people group may change slightly particularly when a people group is spread over several countries.

4 volume encyclopedia sponsored by the Human Relations Area File at Yale University.

"The United Nations estimates that by 2030, more than two-thirds of the total world population will live in urban areas. Most of this increase will take place not in Europe or in the United States but in the megacities and newly emerging urban regions of what used to be called the developing world."

This resource serves as a marvelous introduction to urban studies for those interested in serving in an urban context.