Library Home Page: Education Research Guide: Websites

Using Websites

Websites provide a wide range of information varying in quality. Websites are useful for locating current news, information from various organizations, and opinions concerning a wide variety of subjects. Unlike books and periodicals, websites are not reviewed by any outside source or publishing body and must be carefully reviewed to determine legitimacy.

The Jessie C. Eury Library does not endorse any outside websites.

Need Help?

Leslie Starasta

Email Me

Contact:

Jessie C. Eury Library
Lincoln Christian University

217.732.7788 x.. 2203

Educational Standards

Common Core State Standards
The Common Core standards which all states are being urged to adopt.
Illinois Learning Standards
Links to the officially adopted learning standards for Illinois schools.
National Center for Early Development & Learning
Reports on the findings and suggested standards of this national research study.

Teacher Resources

Education World
An online library of selected education resources.
Idea Box
Provides a wealth of activities and resources for Early Childhood classrooms.
Kathy Schrock's Guide to Everything
The original online site for educators covering everything about technology in the classroom.
Literacy Center
Provides activities and resources for teaching shapes, numbers, and letters to pre-school students in four languages.
Education from National Geographic
Provides free classroom ideas and resources from the magazine known for amazing photos.
PBS TeacherSource
Provides guides to incorporating PBS programs and videos in the classroom.
Teachers Helping Teachers
An online collection of education resources and lesson plans created by classroom teachers for classroom teachers.

Professional Organizations

Association for Supervision and Curriculum
Provides links to information on a variety of current issues facing educators--a great resource for staying current in the profession.
Association of Christian Schools International
Provides information about this organization for Christian schools and educators, and the partner organization International Association of Christian Early Educators.
International Literacy Association
The premiere organization devoted to the teaching of reading to children of all ages, publishing a variety of journals on the topic of reading education and offering professional development opportunities. State chapters provide opportunities for professional development and involvement on a local level.
Illinois Reading Council
An affiliate of the International Reading Association.
International Society for Technology in Education
Provides information on technology standards and how to incorporate technology into curriculum.
National Art Education Association
Dedicated to promoting art education at all grade levels, and beyond formal education via community education workshops and museums.
National Association for the Education of Young Children
The premiere professional organization for early childhood educators. Publishes Early Childhood Research Quarterly and Young Children. A searchable index to Young Children is available from 1985 to the present in addition to the table of contents for the current issue.
Illinois Association for the Education of Young Children
State chapter of the National Association for the Education of Young Children. Provides professional development opportunities for Illinois teachers.
National Council for the Social Studies
Provides information, resources, and professional development opportunities concerning the teaching of Social Studies at all grade levels.
National Council of Teachers of English
Provides information, resources, and professional development opportunities concerning the teaching of English, language arts, literacy, and writing for all grade levels.
National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Provides information, resources, and professional development opportunities about teaching mathematics at all grade levels.
National Science Teachers Association
Provides resources and professional development opportunities for teaching science at all grade levels.

Content Area Resources: Information Literacy

BigSix
Provides resources for incorporating Information Literacy into the classroom for students from early childhood through college.
Information Literacy Standards for Student Learning
Standards co-created by the American Association of School Librarians and the Association for Educational Communications and Technology for students in K-12.
Question Mark
Produced by Jamie McKenzie, this site provides sample research units, a research process, and articles on using questions to create information literate students.

Content Area Resources: Language Arts

StoryPlace
Created by the Public Library Charlotte-Mecklenburg County, this site provides a variety of reading list and activites for pre-schoolers.
Database of Award Winning Children's Literature
A great resource for staying current with children's literature and the vast number of children's literature awards given annually.
International Children's Digital Library Books
Provides access to 530 international books that have been digitized and may be read online.
Miscositas
Provides picture books with related activities and curriculum suggestions in English, Spanish, and French.

Content Area Resources: Math and Science

goENC
Resources for math and science instruction for grades K-12. This site may be accessed after a payment of a reasonable one-time fee. Pricing options are available for individuals and schools.
Math Forum
Provides resources for both students and teachers concerning mathematics.

Content Area Resources: Social Studies

Social Studies Resources
Hosted by Indiana University School of Education; offers links to websites related to social studies teaching.