Library Home Page: Marriage & Family Therapy Research Guide: Begin Here

Why Use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

Encyclopedia of Aging by Ekerdt, David J. (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.2603 E367
Four volume encyclopedia containing the latest research on aging
Encyclopedia of Marriage and the Family by Levinson, David (Editor)
Call Number: R 306.803 L6658
Two volume encyclopedia covering a wealth of topics relating to marital and family issues.
Handbook of Family Therapy by Gunman, Alan S. and David P. Kniskern (Editors)
Call Number: R 616.8915 G979
Explores various methods used and issues raised in family therapy
Handbook of Marriage and the Family by Gary W. Peterson (Editor); Kevin R. Bush (Editor)
Call Number: 306.85 P4853 2013
ISBN: 9781461439868
Publication Date: 2013

Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, & Addictive Behavior by Carson-Dewitt, Rosalyn (Editor)
Call Number: R 362.2903 C3213 2001
4 volumes discussion various types of drugs, substance abuse, and their consequences.
Encyclopedia of Substance Abuse Prevention, Treatment, & Recovery by Gary L. Fisher and Nancy A. Roget, eds.
Call Number: R 362.2903 F5337
ISBN: 9781412950848
A 2 volume reference work emphasizing treatment of substance abuse issues.
Substance Abuse: A Comprehensive Textbook, 4th ed. by Lowinson, Joyce (Editor)
Call Number: R 362.29 L918 2005
Up-to date discussion of substance abuse and effects of various substances on the body and mind.

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Nearly 80 full text reference encyclopedias and handbooks which may be browsed, searched, and utilized online. Search across all available resources or select a specific title. To access from off-campus, you will need to log-in with your username and password.

Sage Knowledge Help
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 14, 2022 0 views this year

Below are a few selected Sage Knowledge titles related to Marriage and Family Therapy or that have specific entries related to this field.