Old Testament Research Guide

The Jessie C. Eury Library has identified key journals in our print collection.  The table of contents for each issue is available on our website via the Journal Table of Contents page to facilitate your access to current journals.

Bible Translator, published quarterly by the United Bible Society, contains articles on Bible translation and word studies from the Old and New Testaments.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

Biblical Archaeology Review is a bi-monthly magazine published by the Biblical Archaeology Society, useful for following news about discoveries. Covers both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament since its beginning in 1975. 

Biblical Theology Bulletin is a peer-reviewed, quarterly journal containing articles and reviews written by experts in biblical and theological studies.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

Bibliotheca Sacra, published quarterly by Dallas Theological Seminary, contains exegetical and theological articles on the Old and New Testament.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

The Institute for Biblical Research is an organization of evangelical Christian scholars. They publish academic articles in their Bulletin for Biblical Research, an annual containing exegetical articles on the Old and New Testament. 

View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

Catholic Biblical Quarterly contains scholarly articles on the Old and New Testaments and is published semi-annually by the Catholic Biblical Association of America.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

Hebrew Studies, a publication of the National Association of Professors of Hebrew, is an internationally recognized scholarly journal devoted to studies of Hebrew language and literature of all periods.

Interpretation is a quarterly publication from Union Theological Seminary containing theme-based articles on the Old and New Testament.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

Israel Exploration Journal is a bi-annual journal covering archaeological explorations in the land of Israel.

Since its establishment in 1976, the Journal for the Study of the Old Testament has become widely regarded as offering the best in current scholarship on the Old Testament across a range of critical methodologies.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. Full text is available via the website.

Journal of Biblical Literature, published quarterly by the Society of Biblical Literature, contains scholarly articles on theological and exegetical issues in the Old and New Testaments.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

The major publication of the Near East Archaeological Society, published annually, contains articles on recent archaeological finds and book reviews.

Near Eastern Archaeology brings to life the ancient world from Mesopotamia to the Mediterranean with vibrant images and authoritative analyses.

 View articles from the most recent indexed issue below using EBSCOhost RSS. 

The Review & Expositor is a quarterly Baptist theological journal dedicated to free and open inquiry of issues related to the Church’s mission in the contemporary world.

Covers the whole range of Old Testament study, including history, literature, religion and theology, language, and relevant contributions from archaeology and the study of the ancient Near East.