Library Home Page: Youth and Family Ministry: Articles

Library Services

Use the guides listed below to learn more about library services available to all Lincoln Christian University Students regardless of location.

Journal Databases

The following journal databases are useful for finding journal articles on Christian education topics.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS contains indexing for 1,500 journals from 1949 to the present and selected books and essays within books. ATLASerials PLUS provides over 580 full text publications plus full text from other EBSCOhost databases.
Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Christian Periodical Index indexes 130 journals which contain an evangelical Christian viewpoint from 1988 to the present. Limited full text is available from other EBSCOhost databases.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for 1,000 journals in the area of education and 100,000 ERIC documents from 1966 to the present. Some full text available.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for 1,300 journals and selected books and dissertations in the areas of psychology, counseling, and education from 1887 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes and abstracts over 13,690 scholarly journals and magazines dating from 1975 to the present with over 9,000 in full text. Academic Search Complete is useful for researching any subject.

Remember that to access our databases from off-campus you must log-in using your username and password.

Search Tips

Use the following guide to learn everything you ever wanted to know about searching EBSCO and more.

How Do I Find Articles in EBSCO?
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 1, 2023 128 views this year

The following page from the EBSCOhost search guide gives instructions on how to search by scripture.

Search by Scripture
This sub-section of the EBSCOhost guide focuses on how to search by scripture in these databases, which will vastly improve your search results.

Any journal article not available in full text or available in the Jessie C. Eury Library may be requested. Utilize the links below or the link within the journal database.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Request books, articles, and other resources from other libraries.

Database Subject Headings

The following subject headings launch a search in ATLA Religion Database.

The following subject headings launch a search in Christian Periodical Index.

The following subject headings launch a search in PsycINFO.

Child Development
This term covers birth to age 12. More specific results can be found by combining this search with the Age limiter in Advanced Search.
Adolescent Development

The following subject headings launch searches in ERIC.

Preadolescents
Ages 9-12
Early Adolescents
Age group between, and overlapping with, "Preadolescents" and "Adolescents" -- approximately 11-15 years of age
Adolescent Development
Late Adolescents
Age group between, and overlapping with, "Adolescents" and "Young Adults" -- approximately 16-23 years of age