Library Home Page: Worship Research Guide: Background Information

Why use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

The titles listed in these boxes are reference books available in the Jessie C. Eury Library's Reference Room for your use. These books may not be checked out of the library.

Reference Books on Worship Studies

New Westminster Dictionary of Liturgy & Worship by Bradshaw, Paul F. (Editor)
Call Number: R 264.003 B8123
Louisville: Westminster John Knox Press, 2002.
Contains brief articles on various aspects of worship, including worship in other world religions.
New Dictionary of Sacramental Worship by Fink, Peter (Editor)
Call Number: R 264.02 F499
Collegeville: Liturgical Press, 1990.
Contains lengthy articles describing worship from a Roman Catholic viewpoint.
Dictionary of the Liturgy by Lang, Jovian
Call Number: R 264.02 L2698
New York: Catholic Book Publishing, 1989.
Contains brief articles on all aspects of the liturgy from a Roman Catholic viewpoint.
The Complete Library of Christian Worship by Webber, Robert (Editor)
Call Number: R 264 W372C and 264 W372C
7 Volumes. Nashville: Star Song Publishing Group, 1993-1994. Volume 1: The Biblical foundations for worship Volume 2: Historical and theological development of worship Volume 3: Resources for worship and preaching Volume 4: Resources for music and the arts in worship Volume 5: Resources for the services of the Christian year Volume 6: Resources for the sacraments, ordinances, and other sacred acts Volume 7: Resources for worship and related ministriesThis seven volume set discusses all aspects of worship and contains large bibliographies of other pertinent resources.

Subject Guide

Leslie Starasta

Email Me

Contact:

Jessie C. Eury Library
Lincoln Christian University

217.732.7788 x.. 2203