Library Home Page: Women in Society: Background Information

Why use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult.

Women and Social Movements

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Includes 108 document projects and archives with almost 4,300 documents and more than 150,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,200 primary authors, this collection is organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Gender Issues

Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Fedwa Malti-Douglas
Call Number: R 306.703 M2616
This four volume encyclopedia covers a wide variety of issues related to the topics of sex and gender in society. While not all articles are related to women's issues, many are.

Women's Studies Reference Online

Additional Sage Knowledge titles may be useful. Users are encouraged to search or browse across all available titles in addition to using the titles listed below.

Women and History

Encyclopedia of Women in the Ancient World by Joyce Salisbury
Call Number: R 305.4090 S1674
An extensive and fascinating collection of stories featuring both famous and everyday women, giving a well-rounded view of the lives of women in the ancient world. (from publisher)
The Encyclopedia of Women's History in America by Kathryn Cullen-DuPont
Call Number: R 305.4 C9674 2000
"Encyclopedia of Women's History in America recounts in accurate detail the events, movements, court cases, documents, and important figures that make up women's history in America. From a biography of colonial poet Anne Bradstreet to a discussion of sexual harassment, this engagingly written resource provides sound, reliable information on virtually every aspect of the experiences and achievements of women in the United States." --BOOK JACKET.