Library Home Page: Theology Research Guide: Start Here

Begin Your Research

This guide contains information on how to research theological topics in the Jessie C. Eury Library.

Several other guides may also be helpful as you do research on Bible and theology topics.

Bible Research Guide
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 3, 2023 103 views this year
Bible Background
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Feb 2, 2022 86 views this year
New Testament Research Guide
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 3, 2023 215 views this year
Old Testament Research Guide
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 3, 2023 334 views this year

Subject Guide

Leslie Starasta

Email Me

Contact:

Jessie C. Eury Library
Lincoln Christian University

217.732.7788 x.. 2203

Why Use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

To Use or Not Use Wikipedia

General Theology

The following theological resources do not represent any specific theological perspective.

Sacramentum Verbi by Johannes B. Bauer (Editor)
Call Number: R 230 B3445 1970
Three volume encyclopedia of biblical theology.
Encyclopedia of Christianity by John Bowden (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.003 B7846
The more than 300 stylish and informative articles collected in this encyclopedia make a fascinating introduction to Christianity through the ages and around the world.
Encyclopedia of Christian Theology by Jean-Yves Lacoste (Editor); Antony Levi (Contribution by)
Call Number: R 230.03 L144
Publication Date: 2004-10-04
A densely academic work, its nearly 500 entries on doctrines, events, theories, schools of thought, and individuals are alphabetically arranged and conclude with excellent supplemental bibliographies and see references.

The following theology resources are from an evangelical perspective.

Theology Dictionaries
This search in the library catalog will list all theology dictionaries in the Jessie C. Eury Library collection.

Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by Daniel J. Treier (Editor); Walter A. Elwell (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.03 EL52 2017
ISBN: 9780801039461
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
The Moody Handbook of Theology by Paul Enns (Editor)
Call Number: R 230 EN59
Paul Enns provides a concise doctrinal reference tool for the newcomer as well as the seasoned scholar seeking a refresher.
New Dictionary of Theology by Martin Davie; Tim Grass; Stephen R. Holmes (Editor); John McDowell (Editor); T. A. Noble (Editor); David Emmanuel Singh (Consultant Editor); Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: R 230.03 D254 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-27
A one volume theological dictionary containing brief articles on theological terms and concepts.

The following resources are from a Catholic viewpoint.

Dictionary of Fundamental Theology by Rene Latourelle and Rino Fishichella (Editors)
Call Number: R 230.03 L359
Fundamental theology takes into account and addresses today's religious pluralism, the indifference of many people to Christianity, and science as an element in contemporary thought . . . . Contemporary concern includes anthropology, communication, feminism, the New Age, and the relation between imagination and theology and between literature and theology. There are articles on the great Catholic apologeticists--Augustine, Pascal, Newman, Teilhard de Chardin, as well as on other important Catholics.
Handbook of Catholic Theology by Wolfgang Beinert and Francis Schüssler Fiorenza (Editors)
Call Number: R 230.203 B422
According to Fiorenza's preface, the handbook "seeks to present an objective and balanced introduction to the basic notions of Catholic theology."
Sacramentum Mundi: An Encyclopedia of Theology by Karl Rahner (Editor)
Call Number: R 282.03 SA1
This four volume encyclopedia focuses on theological topics from a Catholic perspective.

Specialized Theology

Global Dictionary of Theology by William A. Dyrness and Veli-Matti Karkkainen (Editors)
Call Number: 230.03 D998
The Global Dictionary of Theology is inspired by the shift of the center of Christianity from the West to the global South. But it also reflects the increase in two-way traffic between these two sectors as well as the global awareness that has permeated popular culture to an unprecedented degree.
The Blackwell Companion to Postmodern Theology by Graham Ward (Editor)
Call Number: Online
This Companion provides a definitive collection of essays on postmodern theology, drawing on the work of those individuals who have made a distinctive contribution to the field, and whose work will be significant for the theologies written in the new millennium.
The Dictionary of Historical Theology by Trevor A. Hart (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.09 D5545
With 314 articles covering the key figures, theological movements, and significant texts that have shaped Christian thought, The Dictionary of Historical Theology traces the doctrinal development of Christianity from the early church to the present. Varying in length from 500 to 15,000 words, these entries treat the intellectual antecedents and descendants of the figures or schools of thought covered as well as their influence on the wider development of the Christian tradition.
The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Modern Christian Thought by Alister E. McGrath (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.0903 M147
The essays were written and commissioned "as a review of schools of thought, personalities, literature and debates" to allow the "reader to gain an overview of the main developments." The volume succeeds in these goals.
Creeds & Confessions of Faith in the Christian Tradition by Jaroslav Pelikan (Editor); Valerie R. Hotchkiss (Editor)
Call Number: R 238 P384C
Publication Date: 2003-07-11
This set assembles the principal creeds and confessions of the Christian Church, from biblical times to the present, placing them in their historical and theological context.
Credo: Historical and Theological Guide to Creeds and Confessions of Faith in the Christian Tradition by Jeroslav Pelikan
Call Number: R 238 P384C v. 4
One of the world's leading theologians offers important insights into the history and significance of Christian creeds. Copies of this important resource are also available for check out.

Theologians

Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians by Patrick W. Carey and Joseph T. Lienhard, editors
Call Number: R 230.0922 C273
This volume seeks to "provide readers with a concise introduction to the lives and thought of more than 450 Christian theologians." Entries are alphabetically arranged and begin with the date and place of birth and death for each theologian. Whenever possible, the biographical articles describe not only the theologian's life and career, but also the contribution made to Christian theology.
The Westminster Dictionary of Theologians by Justo González (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.0922 G6435
Written by almost sixty Latino scholars and edited by the renowned historian of doctrine Justo González, The Westminster Dictionary of Theologians is global in scope, including theologians from around the world spanning the period of the early church to today.

Foreign Language Tools

Dictionary of Modern Theological German by Helmut W. Ziefle
Call Number: R 230.03 Z65 1992
Dictionary of Latin and Greek Theological Terms by Richard A. Muller
Call Number: R 230.0371 M958
Richard Muller has put all theological students and pastors in his debt with his dictionary. Explanations of vexing Greek and Latin theological terms are drawn mainly from Protestant scholastic theology. Muller frequently explains the differences between the Catholic, Lutheran and Reformed systems which developed after the Reformation.

Ethics

New Dictionary of Christian Ethics & Pastoral Theology by David J. Atkinson and David H. Field (Editors)
Call Number: R 241.03 A875
Instead of the usual A-to-Z listings throughout, this reference work is organized into two parts. The first part includes 18 extended articles, arranged in theological order, which introduce readers to the main themes of Christian ethics and pastoral theology. Part two features more than 700 articles, arranged alphabetically, which are extensively cross-referenced to the main themes.