Library Home Page: Philosophy Research Guide: Websites

Using Websites

Websites provide a wide range of information varying in quality. Websites are useful for locating current news, information from various organizations, and opinions concerning a wide variety of subjects. Unlike books and periodicals, websites are not reviewed by any outside source or publishing body and must be carefully reviewed to determine legitimacy.

The Jessie C. Eury Library does not endorse any outside websites.

Websites in Philosophy

Disclaimer:

While the internet provides access to hosts of profitable storehouses of information, websites proliferate without recourse to veracity. The sites below are generally reputable, with many of them being maintained by major universities or scholarly societies. However, links contained on these sites may lead you to less than reputable sources, so do not rely solely on internet material.

Christian Classics Ethereal Library
Full text access to classic Christian works in the public domain, a digital library of theological texts. It contains primarily patristic, medieval, and Reformation era texts, but also has post-Reformation items as well. The site is maintained by Calvin College.
Erratic Impact
A Philosophy Research Base that is categorized by history, subject and author. Integrating text resources with the best online resources, this study guide attempts to aid both academic and general interest in all philosophical genres and their related fields.
First Things
An interdisciplinary and ecumenical monthly journal/magazine that is concerned with the function of the Christian faith in the Public Square. The website contains most of the print content available digitally at no cost.
Guide to Philosophy on the Internet
Maintained by Peter Suber of the Philosophy department and Earlham College, the site is no longer updated, but contains vast quantities of information.
Society of Christian Philosophers
SCP was organized in 1978, contains links to other theology and Christian philosophy related sites as well as information on up-coming society events.
The Centre for Theology and Philosophy
A research-led institution organised at the interstices of theology and philosophy, it is founded on "the conviction that these two disciplines cannot be adequately understood or further developed, save with reference to each other." It contains links to important books (especially those associated with Radical Orthodoxy), working drafts of scholarly papers, as well as news articles pertaining to theology and philosophy.
The Summa Theologiae of Thomas Aquinas
A digital version of the Summa, translated by the Fathers of the English Dominican Province.
PhilPapers
An open access index to a variety of papers, books, and other resources.
more...less...
Keep in mind that this resources serves to point to other catalogs and resources and may prompt you to purchase articles. Please check the Jessie C. Eury Library's resources and use ILL for your research needs.
Notre Dame Philosophical Reviews
This electronic journal is dedicated solely to reviewing books in the field of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Hosted and created by Stanford University, this encyclopedia contains signed articles written by philosophy professors from a variety of institutions.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Founded by Dr. James Fieser, this free internet encyclopedia has an editorial board comprised of philosophy professors employed at major research university throughout the U.S.A. and Canada.
Sophia Project
A philosophy archive containing commentaries and articles that have been edited and presented in a way to allow anyone to read great philosophical works.
Some Texts from Early Modern Philosophy
“On this site you will find versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.”