Library Home Page: Philosophy Research Guide: Start Here

Welcome!

This research guide focuses on philosophy resources to support philosophy majors at Lincoln Christian University. Students may also find the following guides useful in their studies as well.

Apologetics
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 3, 2023 93 views this year
Theology Research Guide
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Jan 5, 2024 42 views this year

Why Use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

To Use or Not Use Wikipedia

Philosophy Reference

The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)
Call Number: R 103 AU911 1999
Widely acclaimed as the most authoritative and accessible one-volume dictionary available in English, this second edition offers an even richer, more comprehensive, and up-to-date survey of ideas and thinkers written by an international team of 436 contributors.
The Oxford Dictionary of Philosophy by Simon Blackburn, editor
Call Number: R 103 B628 2005
Almost 3000 entries, many extensively cross-referenced, cover Eastern and Western philosophy (with emphasis on the latter), all the main subdivisions of philosophy, terminology from other disciplines that is significant in philosophical discussion, and major historical figures. The 1996 edition is available as an eBook through NetLibrary.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Borchert, Donald M.
Call Number: R 103 M1678 2006
Publication Date: 2006
This 10 volume set contains over 2,100 articles arranged in A-Z order and is heralded for its attention to global philosophy issues.
Historical Dictionary of Medieval Philosophy and Theology by Stephen F. Brown
Call Number: R 189.03 B8799
Provides brief descriptions of people and concepts from medieval philosophy.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas by Maryanne Cline Horowitz, editor in chief.
Call Number: R 901.9 D55 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-03
This award winning 6 volume reference work surveys the history of western thought and provides a valuable interdisciplinary look at history and philosophy.

Philosophy of Religion Reference

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought by William L. Reese (Editor)
Call Number: R 103 R329 1998
With more than 4,000 entries, the dictionary delves into Continental and Asian philosophies and religions, and provides biographies of more than 900 ancient, medieval, and modern philosophers. It's erudite, inclusive, accessible, and covers the major philosophers, gods, tenets, and terms of both the Eastern and Western worlds.
Philosophy of Religion: A Reader and Guide by Gen. Editor William Lane Craig, Section Eds. Kevin Meeker and J. P. Moreland
Call Number: 210 C8868
ISBN: 0813531209
This important new book is a combined anthology and guide intended for use as a textbook in courses on philosophy of religion. It aims to bring to the student the very best of cutting-edge work on important topics in the field.

Website Evaluation

Web-based Reference Sources

The following well-regarded websites are set up like encyclopedias or dictionaries and are useful tools when you are far away from the library.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Hosted and created by Stanford University, this encyclopedia contains signed articles written by philosophy professors from a variety of institutions.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Founded by Dr. James Fieser, this free internet encyclopedia has an editorial board comprised of philosophy professors employed at major research university throughout the U.S.A. and Canada.