Library Home Page: Personality Theory: Background Information

Encyclopedia of Psychology

The Encyclopedia of Psychology by Alan Kazdin is a great place to obtain an overview of your topic including the all important questions of a brief history, key figures, and key concepts. When searching The Encyclopedia of Psychology, use Advanced Search as shown below.

PsycBooks This link opens in a new window
Browse and read over 1,800 books published by the APA and others including articles from the Encyclopedia of Psychology.

Reference Books

The following two print reference sources will be most helpful for personality theory topics.

Baker Encyclopedia of Psychology and Counseling by David G. Benner (Editor); Peter C. Hill (Editor)
Call Number: R 150.3 B469 1999
ISBN: 0801021006
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
This encyclopedia provides a Christian perspective on psychology and counseling topics.
Handbook of Psychology by Weiner, Irving B. (Editor)
Call Number: R 150.3 W4235
Volume 5 of this encyclopedia is devoted to the topics of personality and social psychology

The following e-reference books will be useful.

APA Handbook of Personality and Social Psychology by Mario Mikulincer; Phillip R. Shaver; American Psychological Association Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781433816994
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
A set with 1 volume devoted to each of the following topics: Attitudes and Social Cognition, Group Processes, Interpersonal Relations, and Personality Processes and Individual Differences.
Note the URL goes to a search where you can access each individual volume
Handbook of Personality by Lawrence A. Pervin (Editor); Richard W. Robins (Editor); Oliver P. John (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Provides information on the major theoretical perspectives related to personality research.

Sage Knowledge

Sage Knowledge provides online reference books that cover numerous areas including psychology. It will be a great resource for finding information on the personality theories.

Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new window
Nearly 80 full text reference encyclopedias and handbooks which may be browsed, searched, and utilized online. Search across all available resources or select a specific title. To access from off-campus, you will need to log-in with your username and password.

Sage Knowledge Help
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 14, 2022 0 views this year