Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How Do I Find Dissertations, Doctoral Projects, and Theses?

A guide to assist you in locating and accessing dissertations and theses through the Jessie C. Eury Library.

OAIster is an index of digital resources from open archive collections.  Indexed items include digitized books, articles, archived and historical sources, images, audio files, and movies.  Some theses and dissertations are also included among these collections. 

Note: Keep in mind that some theses and dissertations are available in full text for free, while others are not available in full text without authorization or payment. You are responsible for any charges you may incur to access documents.

Search OAISTER

When searching OAIster, you will automatically be searching Advanced Search. Advanced Search allows users to combine up to three different search terms to create very specific searches.

Select a search type such as author or keyword in the dropdown menu. Entering search terms in more than one search box combines the terms using the Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT.  Choose between them in the dropdown box at the beginning of the second row.  Click Add row if you want to add a third term to your search.

Limit your search to dissertations or theses by adding dissertation as a keyword.

Working with OAIster Search Results

Click on the title to view additional information about the thesis, or click View Online to view the full text of the dissertation.

The Description tab provides additional information about the thesis or dissertation.

Obtaining OAIster Documents

Many items found in OAIster are available in full text by following the URLs posted in the item record.  Some items however only link to a description of the item or to a site where the item can be ordered or viewed after entering payment information. 

Note:  The Jessie C. Eury Library is not responsible for any payments individual may encounter while using OAIster or any other resource.  Instead, the Jessie C. Eury Library recommends placing an Interlibrary Loan request for the item needed using the link below.