When citing an individual section in an edited book, give the author's name followed by the title of the individual section in quotation marks, followed by in the book title and the page numbers where the item is found. If the larger work has an editor, list the editor(s) after the book title and prior to the page numbers as shown in section 17.1.8.
Here is an example for citing a specific article in a theological encyclopedia:
B: Morris, L. L. “Death.” In New Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed., edited by R. W. Wood, 265-267. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1996.
N: L. L. Morris, “Death,” in New Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed., ed. R. W. Wood (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1996), 266.
Here is an example for citing a specific article in an abridged theological encyclopedia such as the one volume Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, frequently referred to as Little Kittel:
B: Kuhn, K. G. “Maranatha.” In Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, edited by Gerhard Kittel. Translated and abridged by Geoffrey W. Bromiley, 564. Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans, 1985.
N: K. G. Kuhn, “Maranatha,” in Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, ed. Gerhard Kittel, trans., abr. Geoffrey W. Bromiley (Grand Rapids, MI: William B. Eerdmans, 1985), 564.
In some instances, you may use two or more parts from the same book. In these instances, you may choose to provide a full citation for the entire book and then shortened citations listing editor and date for the parts used in the Bibliography.
B: Kittel, Gerhard and Gerhard Friedrich, eds. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Translated and abridged by Geoffrey W. Bromiley. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans Publishing, 1985.
B: Kuhn, K. G. “Maranatha.” In Kittel 1985, 563-4.
B: Lohse, E. "Hosanna." In Kittel 1985, 1356.
For the notes, provide complete bibliographical information in the first note for the book. Notes for other parts will need the complete author and title of the part being used but will use only the author of the book being used. Additional notes for parts may follow the shortened note forms.
N: K.G Kuhn, "Maranatha," in Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, eds. Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich, trans. abr. Geoffrey W. Bromiley (Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans Publishing, 1985), 564.
N: E. Lohse, "Hosanna," in Kittel and Friedrich, 1356.
