Turabian 9 Notes-Bibliography Style

Book citations included in the bibliography must include the following elements:

• Author's name listed last name, first name separated by a comma and ending with a period.
• The complete book title, including subtitle, needs to be italicized with all major words capitalized. Separate the title from the subtitle with a colon and place a period at the end of the title. 
• Facts of publication must include the city of publication followed by a colon, publisher followed by a comma, and date of publication with a period at the end.  If the city may be unfamiliar to readers or confused with another city (i.e Lincoln, IL and Lincoln, NE), add the state abbreviation as in the example below.

B: Stott, John. Guard the Truth: The Message of I Timothy and Titus. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1996.

Book citations included as footnotes must include the following elements:

• Author's name listed in standard order (first name last name).
• The complete book title, including the subtitle, needs to be italicized with all major words capitalized.  Do not place any punctuation at the end of the title.
• Facts of publication are included in the same format as for a bibliography entry but are placed in parentheses and followed by a comma.
• Footnotes must include the page or page numbers where the information was found and are followed by a period.

N: John Stott, Guard the Truth: The Message of I Timothy and Titus (Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press, 1996), 30.

Section 16.1, and especially Figure 16.1, provides examples for citing multiple-authored works.

In a bibliography, list the first author's name last name, first name followed by all other authors in the standard order (first name last name).  Separate each author's name with a comma. Use and before the final author's name followed by a period.

The example below shows a bibliography entry for a multi-authored book.

B: Parrot, Les, and Leslie Parrot. Your Time-Starved Marriage: How to Stay Connected at the Speed of Life. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2006.  

For items with four or more authors, list all of the authors in the bibliographic citation.  Separate each author's name with a comma and use the word and before the final author's name followed by a period.

B: Millon, Theodore, Seth Grossman, Carrie Millon, Sarah  Megher , and Rowena Ramnath. Personality Disorders in Modern Life. 2nd ed. Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004.

In a footnote, list all names in standard order (first name last name).  For two or three authors, separate the names using and. 

N: Les Parrot and Leslie Parrot, Your Time-Starved Marriage: How to Stay Connected at the Speed of Life (Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 2006), 56.

If there are four or more authors, Turabian notes to list only the first author in the footnote followed by the words et al followed by a period.

N: Theodore Millon et al., Personality Disorders in Modern Life, 2nd ed. (Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2004). 168.

When an editor or translator is listed along with an author, that editor or translator's name goes after the book title. In a bibliography, use the phrase Edited by or Translated by.

Below is an example of a translated book.

B: Augustine, Saint. Confessions. Translated by R. S. Pine-Coffin. New York: Penguin Books, 1961. 

When an editor or translator is listed in place of an author, treat that name as the author using the abbreviation ed. or trans. after the name.

B: Sweeney, Jon M., trans. Francis of Assisi In His Own Words: The Essential Writings. Brewster, MA: Paraclete Press, 2013.

In a footnote use the abbreviation ed. or trans. for both an editor or translator in addition to an author or in place of an author. 

N: Saint Augustine, Confessions trans. R. S. Pine-Coffin (New York: Penguin Books, 1961), 101. 

N: Jon M. Sweeney, trans., Francis of Assisi In His Own Words: The Essential Writings (Brewster, MA: Paraclete Press, 2013), 18.

Some books have been published more than once incorporating changes in content.  These books are referred to as editions which must be noted in the citation.

Revised editions note a revised or second edition on the title page.  Include the number or description of the edition after the title and after the appropriate punctuation for a bibliography entry or note. Use the publication date of the edition being used.

An example of a book with an edition is given below.

B: Stott, John. Understanding the Bible. 2nd ed. Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 2001.

N: John Stott, Understanding the Bible, 2nd ed. (Grand Rapids: Baker Books, 2001), 45.

Many books are printed in multiple editions such as hardback, paperback, and ebook. Make certain to cite the edition you are using.  However, if the book you are using was reprinted several years after the original, it is good practice to include the original publication date in your reference list. In a bibliography entry, place the original publication date followed by a period and then the word Reprint after the title.  

B: Bonhoeffer, Dietrich. The Cost of Discipleship. 1959. Reprint, New York: Simon & Schuster, 1995.

In a note entry, place the original publication date and the abbreviation reprint, separated by a comma within the parentheses before the publication information. 

N: Dietrich Bonhoeffer, The Cost of Discipleship (1959; repr., New York: Simon & Schuster,1995), 106.

How to cite a multi-volume work depends on several variables which are described in section 17.1.4.

If the item has several volumes and each volume has a unique title, give the title of the volume used followed by the volume number and title of the entire set as shown below. 

B: Henry, Carl F. H. God, Revelation and Authority. Vol. 3, God Who Speaks and Shows: Fifteen Theses, Part Two. Waco, TX: Word, 1979.

N: Carl F. H. Henry, God, Revelation and Authority, vol. 3, God Who Speaks and Shows: Fifteen Theses, Part Two (Waco, TX: Word, 1979), 20.

If the volumes do not have unique titles and one or more volumes is being used, give the title of the entire work followed by each volume number used. 

B: Spurgeon, C. H. The Treasury of David: An Expository and Devotional Commentary on the Psalms. Vols. 3 and 4. 1882-1887. Reprint, Grand Rapids: Baker, 1984.

Turabian indicates the notes should place the individual volume number without any abbreviation immediately before the page number with only a colon between.

N: C. H. Spurgeon, The Treasury of David: An Expository and Devotional Commentary on the Psalms (1882-1887; repr., Grand Rapids: Baker, 1984), 3:120.

N: C. H. Spurgeon, The Treasury of David: An Expository and Devotional Commentary on the Psalms (1882-1887; repr., Grand Rapids: Baker, 1984), 4:50.

If utilizing an entire multi-volume set, give the total number of volumes after the title in the bibliography entry.  If the item was published over a range of years, indicate the entire range.  Turabian cautions that it is more precise to cite individual volumes if the volume has an individual title or editor. In corresponding footnotes, cite the specific volume used as in the example above.

B:  Spurgeon, C. H. The Treasury of David: An Expository and Devotional Commentary on the Psalms. 7 vols. 1882-1887. Reprint, Grand Rapids: Baker, 1984.