In section 19.1.9, Turabian indicates that when citing an individual section of larger work such as a single essay from a volume of essays or a single entry from a reference work, the author and title of the individual section must be given before the title, and in some cases the editor, of the larger work.
Sometimes you may use only a single chapter or essay from a larger book by a single-author. In those instances, cite the specific chapter used rather than the entire book as demonstrated below.
R: Cone, Steven. 2018. "The Image of God." In Theology from the Great Tradition, 263-274. New York: Bloomsbury T & T Clark.
P: (Cone 2018, 270)
Give the author's name followed by the title of the individual section in quotation marks followed by in, then give the book title and the page numbers where the item is found. If the larger work has an editor, list the editor(s) after the book title and prior to the page numbers as shown in section 19.1.9.
Here is an example for citing a specific article in a theological encyclopedia:
R: Morris, L. L. 1996. “Death.” In New Bible Dictionary, 3rd ed., edited by R. W. Wood, 265-267. Downers Grove, IL: InterVarsity Press.
P: (Morris 1996, 266)
Here is an example for citing a specific article in an abridged theological encyclopedia such as the one volume Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, frequently referred to as Little Kittel:
R: Kuhn, K. G. 1985. “Maranatha.” In Theological Dictionary of the New Testament, edited by Gerhard Kittel and Gerhard Friedrich. Translated and abridged by Geoffrey W. Bromiley, 563-4. Grand Rapids: William B. Eerdmans.
P: (Kuhn 1985, 564)
Sometimes you may use two or more parts from the same book. In these instances, you may choose to provide a full citation for the entire book and then shortened citations listing the editor and date for the parts used in the reference list.
For example, you may reference multiple parts from the Theological Dictionary of the New Testament as shown below.
R: Kittel, Gerhard and Gerhard Friedrich, eds. 1985. Theological Dictionary of the New Testament. Translated and abridged by Geoffrey W. Bromiley. Grand Rapids, MI: Eerdmans Publishing.
R: Kuhn, K. G. 1985. “Maranatha.” In Kittel 1985, 563-4.
R: Lohse, E. 1985. "Hosanna." In Kittel 1985, 1356.
The corresponding parenthetical citation would refer to the specific parts rather than the whole book.
P: (Kuhn 1985, 564)
P: (Lohse 1985, 1356)
Citations for a chapter or essay in an ebook or an article from an online reference work such as Sage Knowledge should be formatted according to 19.1.9. Also include information about where the item was found online such as the DOI, shortened URL, or the name of the commercial database as described in section 15.4.1. A DOI (Digital Object Identifier) is preferred when available as shown in the example below.
R: Matheson, Victor. 2006. "Poverty Gap Index." In Encyclopedia of World Poverty, edited by Mehmet Odekon, 844-845. Thousand Oaks, CA: SAGE. http://dx.doi.org/10.4135/9781412939607.n547.
P: (Matheson 2006, paragraph 3)
Note: When using a DOI insert the text http://dx.doi.org/ before the DOI number.
When using only a chapter of an ebook found via eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Ebrary, or PsycBOOKS when a DOI is not available, you would use the name of the commercial database at the end of the reference citation.
R: Burns, John S. (Jack). 2014. "Christian Leadership on a Sea of Complexity." In Organizational Leadership: Foundations and Practices for Christians by Simmons, Donald C., John R. Shoup, and Jack Burns, 121-142 Downers Grove, IL: IVP Academic, 2014. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), EBSCOhost.
P: (Burns 2014, 125)