Library Home Page: Apologetics: Background Information

Why Use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

Baker Encyclopedia of Christian Apologetics by Norman Geisler
Call Number: R 239.03 G313
Providing Christians with a comprehensive reference volume covering every key issue, person, and concept related to Christian apologetics, this work offers extensive coverage of apologetics with articles on key individuals, philosophical systems and concepts, biblical controversies, contemporary issues, and perennial apologetic arguments.
New Dictionary of Christian Apologetics by Campbell Campbell-Jack and Gavin J. McGrath (Editors)
Call Number: R 239.03 C1883
These essays examine the practice and importance of Christian apologetics in light of theological, historical and cultural concerns. Part two builds on these essays to present numerous alphabetized articles on individuals, ideas, movements and disciplines that are vital to a rational explanation of the Christian faith. Both essays and articles are written by leading Christian philosophers and theologians.
The Big Book of Christian Apologetics by Norman L. Geisler
Call Number: R 239.03 G3134 2012

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion: Eastern and Western Thought by William L. Reese (Editor)
Call Number: R 103 R329 1998
With more than 4,000 entries, the dictionary delves into Continental and Asian philosophies and religions, and provides biographies of more than 900 ancient, medieval, and modern philosophers. It's erudite, inclusive, accessible, and covers the major philosophers, gods, tenets, and terms of both the Eastern and Western worlds.