Library Home Page: Bioethics Research Guide: Websites

Using Websites

Websites provide a wide range of information varying in quality. Websites are useful for locating current news, information from various organizations, and opinions concerning a wide variety of subjects. Unlike books and periodicals, websites are not reviewed by any outside source or publishing body and must be carefully reviewed to determine legitimacy.

The Jessie C. Eury Library does not endorse any outside websites.

Bioethics Websites

Bioethics.net
This website founded in 1993 hosts the American Journal of Bioethics, provides access to bioethics news, and hosts a blog on bioethics topics.
Center for Practical Bioethics
A non-profit, independent organization which provides information and resources to help individuals wrestle with bioethical topics. Particularly noteworthy are the videos and podcasts available.
Ethics and Health
This site, sponsored by the World Health Organization, provides access to newsletters and publications regarding bioethics topics.
Eubios Ethics Institute
Eubios is a non-profit group dedicated to increasing the discussion of bioethical issues in the international arena.
European Group on Ethics in Science and New Technologies
The European Group issues opinions and documents in order to advise the European Commission.
Kennedy Institute of Ethics
The Kennedy Institute of Ethics, founded in 1971 at Georgetown University, is one of the premier research organizations in the field of bioethics.
MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics
The MacLean Center for Clinical Medical Ethics is housed within the University of Chicago's Department of Medicine. Under Resources there is a extensive list of links, including videos of their faculty seminar series.
The Hastings Center
"A non-partisan research institute dedicated to bioethics" which includes a journal, a forum, news section, and many other resources.

Bioethics Document Archives

Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues
This site contains the papers, transcripts, and archives of the commission which was chartered in 2009 and ended in 2017.
President's Council on Bioethics
Although the charter for this council expired in 2009, this archive contains the reports, transcripts, and complete archives from 2001-2009.
National Bioethics Advisory Commission
This archive contains the reports, transcripts, and complete archives of this commission from 1995 to 2001. This commission's charter expired in 2001.
International Bioethics Committee
"The International Bioethics Committee (IBC) is a body of 36 independent experts that follows progress in the life sciences and its application."
Bioethics Central
This site through the Genome News Network pulls together numerous primary documents concerning bioethics.

Bioethics Organizational Websites

American Society for Bioethics and Humanities
A society promoting the exchange of ideas and interdisciplinary study of bioethics and and health-related humanities.
American Society of Law, Medicine, and Ethics
An organization with publishes two journals, sponsors a variety of conferences, and provides blogs and forums. Some resources are restricted to society members.
Bioethics International
Bioethics International is an organization dedicated to helping health-care providers engage in the "responsible decision-making" concerning health related issues.
Canadian Bioethics Society
A Canadian society devoted to sharing ideas and finding solutions related to bioethical concerns.
International Association of Bioethics
The International Association of Bioethics aims to be truly international, linking all those working in bioethics and related fields, facilitating mutual contact, and encouraging the discussion of cross-cultural aspects in bioethics.

Religion & Ethics Resources Related to Bioethics

Anscombe Bioethics Centre
Formerly known as the Linacre Centre, this Roman Catholic centre engages in scholarly discussion concerning bioethics topics and has been heralded as one of the finest bioethics institutes in the world.
Canadian Catholic Bioethics Institue
An institute affiliated with University of St. Michael's College in the University of Toronto.
Center for Applied Christian Ethics
Based at Wheaton College, the Center for Applied Christian Ethics web site features an ejournal and audio recordings concerning a variety of issues including, but not limited to, bioethics.
Center for Bioethics and Human Dignity
Based at Trinity International University, this Christian center is dedicated to "exploring the nexus of biomedicine, biotechnology, and our common humanity." Resources include a variety of bibliographies, case studies, email lists, and other web-based links.
Center for Bioethics Cedarville University
Provides a podcast concerning bioethics issues and links to other resources for academics, health care professionals, and other interested individuals.
Center for Christian Ethics
Based at Baylor University, the Center for Christian Ethics publishes Christian Reflections, a journal examining a variety of issues including numerous bioethical topics. Articles may be browsed by topic.
Christian Medical and Dental Association
The professional association for Christian health professionals. Click on Issues & Ethics for bioethics resources.
Counterbalance: New Views on Complex Issues
Explores a variety of issues related to science, philosophy, ethics, and religion including bioethics.
Ethics Updates
A website created by Lawrence Hinman of the University of San Diego which pulls together a variety of resources related to the study of ethics.
Markula Center for Applied Ethics
The Markula Center, sponsored by Santa Clara University, focuses on several different ethical areas including bioethics.
National Catholic Bioethics Center
Founded in 1972, this center focuses on promoting "human dignity in health care and the life sciences, and derives its message directly from the teachings of the Catholic Church."
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life
Provides research related to a variety of topics concerning the intersection of religion and public opinion in the U.S.
Pew Forum: Science & Bioethics
Provides research related to a variety of topics concerning the intersection of bioethics and public opinion in the U.S.

Other Bioethics Web Directories

Bioethics Resources on the Web
A portal for bioethics resources created by the National Institutes of Health.
EthicShare
Created by the Center for Bioethics at the University of Minnesota, this resource provides a database of ethics resources and the opportunity to share and collaborate with other researchers.
Online Bioethics Resources
These links are provided by the National Human Genome Research Institute.