Library Home Page: Bioethics Research Guide: Articles

Religious & Philosophical Databases

The following journal databases are useful for finding journal articles on Bioethics topics from a religious and philosophical view point. Underneath each database is a link to specific subject headings in bioethics topics.

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS contains indexing for 1,500 journals from 1949 to the present and selected books and essays within books. ATLASerials PLUS provides over 580 full text publications plus full text from other EBSCOhost databases.

Bioethics
ATLA subject heading
Bioethics/Medical Ethics
ATLA subject heading
Medical Ethics
ATLA subject heading

Christian Periodical Index This link opens in a new window
Christian Periodical Index indexes 130 journals which contain an evangelical Christian viewpoint from 1988 to the present. Limited full text is available from other EBSCOhost databases.

Bioethics
Christian Periodical Index subject heading
Bioethics--Religious aspects
Christian Periodical Index subject heading
Medical Ethics
Christian Periodical Index subject heading
Medical Ethics
Philosopher's Index subject heading

Remember that to access our databases from off-campus you must log-in using your username and password.

Health & Medical Databases

The following journal databases focus on health and medical issues including bioethics. Some, but not all, journals indexed in these publications contain a Christian viewpoint.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for 850 journals in the area of nursing and medicine from 1990 to the present.
MedLine This link opens in a new window
Indexes 3,500 medical journals from 1965 to the present.

PubMed
BioMed Central
218 peer-reviewed open access journals may be searched and viewed in full-text.
Bioethics Information Resources
This site allows users to search a subset of the National Library of Medicine Catalog or PubMed devoted specifically to bioethics rersources.

Other Useful Databases

The following journal databases provide information on bioethics from other perspectives which may be useful in your research. Some, but not all, journals indexed in these publications contain a Christian viewpoint.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete indexes and abstracts over 13,690 scholarly journals and magazines dating from 1975 to the present with over 9,000 in full text. Academic Search Complete is useful for researching any subject.

Bioethics
Academic Search Complete subject heading.
Medical Ethics
Academic Search Complete subject heading.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides abstracts for 1,300 journals and selected books and dissertations in the areas of psychology, counseling, and education from 1887 to the present.

Bioethics
PsycINFO subject heading

Search Tips

Use the following guide to learn everything you ever wanted to know about searching EBSCO and more.

How Do I Find Articles in EBSCO?
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Sep 1, 2023 59 views this year

Scholarly Articles
by Leslie Starasta Last Updated Jan 30, 2022 3 views this year

Any journal article not available in full text or available in the Jessie C. Eury Library may be requested. Utilize the links below or the link within the journal database.

Interlibrary Loan Request Form
Request books, articles, and other resources from other libraries.

Bioethics Databases

The following databases are provided for free through the Georgetown University Bioethics Research Library.

ETHXweb
This database, created by Georgetown University, indexes journal articles, books, laws, court decisions, news articles, and other resources related to bioethics. Note that some links are specific to Georgetown users.
ETHXweb Search Tutorial
This tutorial, produced by Georgetown University, demonstrates how to search ETHXweb.
GenETHX
A database devoted to the scholarly literature related to genetics and ethics created by Georgetown University. Note that some links are specific to Georgetown users.
GenETHX Search Tutorial
This tutorial, produced by Georgetown University, demonstrates how to search GenETHX and located subject terms using the Bioethics Thesaurus.
Bioethics Thesaurus
This interface searches the thesaurus of subject headings used by Georgetown's Bioethics Research Library to create the ETHXweb and GenETHX databases. Using this thesaurus is highly recommended in order to achieve the best search results in these resources.
Bioethics Keywords
This handout lists the top 125 keywords used in the Bioethics Thesaurus listed above.
BELIT
BELIT, short for Bioethics Literature, is a database of American, French, and German literature in the field of bioethics produced by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences in Bonn, Germany.