Library Home Page: Systematic Theology: Background Information

Why use Background Information?

Background information:

Shows how a topic fits into a broader subject or discipline
Helps you to know if there is enough or too much information on a topic
Provides access to the specific vocabulary which serves as keywords for searching
Often contains bibliographies which point to key resources and experts to consult

The titles listed in these boxes are reference books available in the Jessie C. Eury Library's Reference Room for your use. These books may not be checked out of the library.

Topical Analysis of the Bible by Walter A. Elwell (Editor)
Call Number: R 230 E522 2012
Fifteen key Christian doctrines are explored chapter-by-chapter, including: The Personal God, Sanctification, Christian Living: Responsibilities to Others and Nature, Jesus Christ, and more. Each of these chapters includes a detailed outline and complete citations. This is an unparalleled, affordable resource for ministers and laymen alike who want a more in-depth resource at their fingertips, and who long to be more thoroughly grounded in their faith. Includes approximately 35,000 Scripture references from the popular New International Version.

Christian Encyclopedias

The Encyclopedia of Christianity by Erwin Fahlbusch (Editor); Geoffrey William Bromiley; Jan Lochman (Editor); John Mbiti (Editor); Jaroslav Pelikan (Editor); Lukas Vischer (Editor); Jan M. Lochman (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.003 E5639
Publication Date: 1999-01-21
The multiple award-winning Encyclopedia of Christianity, copublished by Brill and Eerdmans, is a monumental five-volume work presenting the history and current state of the Christian faith in its rich spiritual and theological diversity around the world. Volume 1 (A-D) contains 465 articles featuring - articles on all but the smallest countries of the world, including the former communist nations that have gained independence since 1989; - the latest statistical information from David B. Barrett on the religious affiliation and ecclesiastical breakdown of each country and continent; - articles on doctrines, denominations, and social and ethical issues in relation to the churches; - biographical articles on prominent figures through church history.

The following encyclopedias are written from a scholarly Christian viewpoint. There are numerous additional one-volume theological encyclopedias which may prove useful as well.

Encyclopedia of Christian Theology by Jean-Yves Lacoste (Editor); Antony Levi (Contribution by)
Call Number: R 230.03 L144
Publication Date: 2004-10-04
A densely academic work, its nearly 500 entries on doctrines, events, theories, schools of thought, and individuals are alphabetically arranged and conclude with excellent supplemental bibliographies and see references.

Theology Dictionaries

Remember to check out the Theology guide for more great background resources.

New Dictionary of Theology by Martin Davie; Tim Grass; Stephen R. Holmes (Editor); John McDowell (Editor); T. A. Noble (Editor); David Emmanuel Singh (Consultant Editor); Kevin J. Vanhoozer (Consultant Editor)
Call Number: R 230.03 D254 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-27
A one volume theological dictionary containing brief articles on theological terms and concepts.
Evangelical Dictionary of Theology by Daniel J. Treier (Editor); Walter A. Elwell (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.03 EL52 2017
ISBN: 9780801039461
Publication Date: 2017-11-07
Fifteen years after its original publication comes a thoroughly revised edition of the Evangelical Dictionary of Theology. Every article from the original edition has been revisited. With some articles being removed, others revised, and many new articles added, the result is a completely new dictionary covering systematic, historical, and philosophical theology as well as theological ethics.
The Dictionary of Fundamental Theology by Rene Latourelle (Editor); Rino Fisichella (Editor)
Call Number: R 230.03 L359
An alphabetical reference that consists of 222 articles, of which 30 major ones serve as keys to the structure of the whole (e.g., christology, church, history, revelation, etc.).

Religious Encyclopedias

The following encyclopedias are written from a particular religious viewpoint.

Encyclopedia of the Lutheran Church
Call Number: R 284.103 B66
A 3 volume encyclopedia presenting a Lutheran point of view on a variety of topics.
New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 282.03 N532 2003
This 14 volume encyclopedia covers a multitude of topics from a Catholic theological perspective.
Sacramentum Mundi: An Encyclopedia of Theology by Karl Rahner (Editor)
Call Number: R 282.03 SA1
This four volume encyclopedia focuses on theological topics from a Catholic perspective.
The Encyclopedia of the Stone-Campbell Movement by Douglas A. Foster, et al. (Editors)
Call Number: R 286.603 F7546
An encyclopedia of all things Restoration Movement, this volume gives beginning information on the beliefs and many of the people, places and events in the movement's history.

Worship Encyclopedia

Complete Library of Christian Worship by Webber, Robert E., editor
Call Number: R 264 W372C
This seven volume resource contains a treasure trove of information on the biblical and theological basis for worship and resources to design and plan worship.

Worship resources can be very useful for this assignment as some doctrines are practiced during worship and are an important part of our worship to God.