Skip to Main Content
chat now!

How Do I Find Articles in EBSCO?

This guide contains resources to assist you in utilizing EBSCOhost journal databases.

Search by Publication

Search by Publication, a feature available in many but not all EBSCO databases, has several useful functions.  It can be used to check if a certain publication is included in a database, what years are included, and whether an item is available in full text.  Search by Publication also provides useful information about publications.

Click Publications on the EBSCOhost menu bar at the top of the screen to access Search by Publication.

Select Publications, shown here between New Search and Subject Terms.

Search by Publication offers three different search types: Alphabetical, By Subject & Description, or Match Any Words.

  • Alphabetical allows you to enter any publication title, or beginning of a title, and find it in an alphabetical list.  This is best if you know the exact publication title.
  • By Subject & Description allows you to search the description of a publication and is useful to find the titles of specific publications in a subject area.
  • Match Any Words allows you to search the title or subject and description of the publications and may result in a large number of titles.

Select a search type below the box, enter your search term, and then click Browse. You can also select from the linked letters of the alphabet underneath to view an alphabetical list of journals.

Results will display in an alphabetical list or a relevancy list depending on the search type.  Scan the results to find the desired publication.

Mark items for search: Click in the box before a journal title and then click Add to search for all articles in that journal. Click any title to learn more about that publication. Click the RSS icon in front of the title to set up an RSS feed of results from that journal. The information under the title shows the dates for indexed records and full text availability.

Select a journal title to view publication details.

Detail view of publication: Provides additional information about a journal, including the publisher, mailing address, journal description, publication URL, publication frequency, and whether it is peer-reviewed.

Search Within Publication

Search within a Publication is a useful tool for those times when you wish to limit your search to a specific publication either because you are looking for an article that you know was published in journal xyz or because you want to see how a particular topic was treated in a journal over time.  Search within a Publication also allows users to view a virtual table of contents for a specific issue of a publication.   This function is not available in all EBSCOhost databases.

To search within a publication, first search for the publication and click on the publication name to view the publication details.

Search Within this publication is located in the upper right hand corner.

This will launch the search page with the journal name in the search box as shown below.

Click Search to retrieve all records from this journal or enter another search term to combine with this journal title. Click on Advanced Search underneath if you want to combine the Advanced Search options.

This search will produce results containing the entered search term and the specified journal.

Limit Search by Publication

If you know the exact name of a journal, you may limit your search to that publication from the Basic or Advanced search screen.

Enter your desired search terms in either the basic or Advanced search box. Scroll down to limit your results. Enter the desired journal in the box labeled Publication.

All search results will contain the entered search terms and be published in the entered publication.