Skip to Main Content
chat now!

How Do I Find Articles in EBSCO?

This guide contains resources to assist you in utilizing EBSCOhost journal databases.

Search Results Display

Search results in EBSCO are displayed in a list showing: Article title which you can click for more information. Author name. Journal title and publication information. Subject headings that describe the article, useful in determining if the article meets your research needs. PDF Full Text will appear if an article is available in full text, while a link to SFX appears if this database has no full text for this article, so you can see quickly if any other database offers more.

Search results are displayed according to Relevancy or how closely EBSCO thinks the search result matches the entered search term.  Search results may be sorted in other ways.

Click the down arrow next to Relevance Sort to select a different sort option. Date Descending is useful to display the most recent items first.

Reading Search Results

The search result provides a variety of information which can assist you in searching for additional items and locate exact publication information.

Search results provide additional information.Some items have an Abstract and DOI (Digital Object Identifier).

 

Refining Search Results

EBSCOhost provides many options for limiting or refining search results in the left menu bar.

Click on Subject: Thesaurus Term or Subject to view additional subject terms useful for narrowing a search and for locating new search terms to use. Click Show More to see additional search terms.

Options vary from database to database.  The following options are available in Academic Search.

Limit search results to Full Text, or References Available, or Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals. Set publication date, if you only want recent articles. Limit source types to Academic Journals only, or Magazines only, or Newspapers only, or Trade Publications, or combine any number of these; there are lots more less common types.

Tools for Working with Search Results

A variety of tools appear to the right of the item record which provide options for working with the record now and in the future. Some of these tools require you to sign into My EBSCOhost to use. Add to folder will temporarily hold your record. To have a permanent folder, you must sign into My EBSCOhost. Tools for Print, E-mail, and Save give you instructions on how to keep a record or article. Click on Cite to view a citation for the article. Export will save article information in a format used by bibliographic management software. Create Note will only let you save notes on the site if you have a My EBSCOhost account. Permalink and Bookmark both provide URLs which will return directly to this article and may be shared.