Skip to Main Content
chat now!

eBooks on EBSCO

A guide to searching and using eBooks on the EBSCOhost platform.

eBooks on EBSCO may be read online on your computer or another internet accessible mobile device such as a tablet or iPad.  Reading via a smart phone was difficult in our tests.

The functions provided to view the eBooks vary within the different products available. Click on the product titles in menu to the left for more information.

EBooks on EBSCOhost Collection

While viewing search results in the EBSCOhost eBook Collection, click on the title of the book to view additional information, PDF Full Text, or Table of Contents. 

Select PDF Full Text or Table of Contents

The information below indicates how to use eBooks for each of these options.

Title of the Book: Displays a description of the book in addition to author and publication information as well as access to PDF Full text and Table of Contents.

PDF Full Text: When you click on PDF Full Text, the book will open to the cover page.

Table of Contents:  When you click on the Table of Contents, a hyperlink for each individual chapter will appear. Click on the chapter of your choice to view the chapter. 

Working with eBooks:

Search within the eBook or view the Table of Contents.

Buttons available in eBook interface.

Save, print, email, or export ebook pages.

Save, Email, or Print

Export Options

To Export to Google Drive you must be signed into your LCU Google Account. 

PsycBOOKS

PsycBooks indexes included books at the chapter or essay level.  Each chapter or essay may be pulled up individually in a PDF file to be read, downloaded, saved, or emailed.

Note that each of these records are a chapter in a different book. Click on PDF Full Text to view the chapter.

After you open the full text view, the table of contents for each full book is displayed to the left of the chapter to ease access to other portions of the book.

Adobe Reader Functions in PsycBooks: To move through the chapter or to print, save, or email the document, use the tools provided through the Adobe Reader software in your browser.

ATLA Historical Monographs

The ATLA Historical Monographs collection uses the Digital Archives Viewer which functions similarly to the EBSCOhost eBook collection reader but has some additional features specific to these historic works.

Click View Full Text to read an historical monograph.

ATLA Digital Archives Viewer: Allows search of the entire text and a linked full text to the book so users may easily go to a particular section.

ATLA Document Map: Click on any page of the Document Map to go straight to that page. Tan colored pages contain the entered search term.

Screen buttons for EBSCO eBooks: Use the previous and next arrows to move through the book page by page, or enter a specific page number and click Go. Use the buttons in the lower left corner of the screen to make the page fill the entire device screen, fit the page width, or show the actual page size. Buttons are also available to make the text larger (+) or smaller (-).