New Testament Research Guide

The purpose of this dictionary is to give an account of everything that relates to Christ - His Person, Life, Work, and Teaching.

The third volume in this series of reference works includes in its scope the book of Acts, the general epistles or Peter, James, Jude and John, and the books of Hebrews and Revelation. Historical data through A.D. 150 is included as well.

The English translation of the three-volume Exegetisches W rterbuch zum Neuen Testament, this monumental work by an ecumenical group of scholars is first of all a complete English dictionary of New Testament Greek. Going beyond that, however, EDNT also serves as a guide to the usage of every New Testament word in its various contexts, and it makes a significant contribution to New Testament exegesis.

Online access available as well.

The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple and later Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish history, faith and thought, including topics such as family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patrons and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives.

This dictionary, subtitled "a one-volume compendium of contemporary biblical scholarship," contains selected essential articles from all of the IVP New Testament dictionaries.

This resource is now available for check out from general collection. While an updated edition is available NIDNTT, sometimes called Brown, is still worth consulting

5 Volume 2nd edition edited by Moises Silva.

For over seventy-five years Word Pictures in the New Testament has been a cornerstone of Bible scholarship.

Available online and in the Reference Room. Readers of the New Testament often encounter quotes or allusions to Old Testament stories and prophecies that are unfamiliar or obscure. In order to fully understand the teachings of Jesus and his followers, it is important to understand the large body of Scripture that preceded and informed their thinking. . . a comprehensive commentary on Old Testament quotations, allusions, and echoes that appear from Matthew through Revelation.

This is a hardcover set that helps readers understand the historical and cultural background of the books of the New Testament. Brimming with lavish, full color photos and graphics, each book will walk you verse by verse through the books of the New Testament.
Note: There are also versions for individual books of the Bible available in our stacks for check out.

There are also copies available in the stacks as well as online.

There are also copies available in the stacks.