Welcome!
This guide is a resource for student's in Mr. Simpson's Written Composition course. It contains information and resources to accompany in-class activities and to assist you in completing your research-based assignments. If you have difficulty opening any files, accessing links, or doing research, please contact me.
Assignment 1: Due Friday, February 10
Locate a scholarly journal article of your choice for your written composition assignment.
Click on the link below to access a survey containing some questions about your article. This survey requires you to log-in using your LCU email username and password. Please contact me using the contact information on the right if you have any questions or difficulties.
Need Help Finding a Topic?
Are you having trouble thinking of an interesting topic? Have some ideas but aren't sure if there will be enough information? Check out the following two resources which highlight a variety of current social issues perfect for paper topics.
- CQ ResearcherProvides original research and analysis reports including pro/con opinions by public policy experts on numerous current social and political issues. A new report is issued each week.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints in ContextProvides overviews, pro/con essays, articles from reference books, newspapers, and magazines, and links to websites, podcasts and videos on over 5,000 topics.
Session 1: February
Welcome to today's class! Today we are going to discern the difference between scholarly journals and popular magazines and discuss how to find journal articles.
1. In your assigned groups, examine the items you are given. Please note what is the same and different about the items. Nothing is too small or too large to note.
2. In your second acitivity, you are going to search for the articles listed below. Links to the databases listed are found on the tab Finding Scholarly Journal Articles. After finding the two arrticles, compare them noting what is the same and different about the items. When available, you are strongly encouraged to use the PDF full text. You may wish to consider what you are told about the author, what content is included in the article, and what you know about the sources the author used.
Group 1: Use the journal database OmniFile Full Text to find these two articles:
1. America's Deporter in Chief.
2. A Case for the Undocumented Immigrant
Group 2: Use the journal database Academic Search Premier to find these two articles:
1. Illegal Immigration: A Positive Economic Contribution to the United States.
2. The Case For Amnesty.
Group 3: Use the journal database MasterFile Premier to find these two articles:
1. Whose Children Are these? A Rational Approach to Educating Illegal-Alien Schoolchildren
2. The Immigration Dilemma
Group 4: Use the journal databases Academic Search Premier to find these two articles:
1. What Kind of Reform? by Amy Frykholm
2. Undocumented Immigrants Should Receive Social Services (if time allows you may wish to read the countering article Undocumented Immigrants Should Not Receive Social Services)
Group 5: Use the journal database OmniFile Full Text to find these two articles:
1. Jesus and the Undocumented Immigrant
2. Urban Districts Urged to Prepare for Immigration Raids



Loading...
