This is the "Home" page of the "Dr. Keith's Introduction to the Bible" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Dr. Keith's Introduction to the Bible  

A guide to assist students in completing their research paper for Dr. Keith's Introduction to the Bible course.
Last Updated: Dec 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.lincolnchristian.edu/BI111Keith Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Use Background Information?

Reference books, such as encyclopedia and subject reference works, contain key facts and authoritative information about any topic you may have selected. 

 

Bible Reference Works

Reference books are a great place to begin any assignment.

Subject Reference Works provide more detailed information on specific subjects. The articles in subject reference works are often more detailed than those in general encyclopedias. The authors use more language that is unique to the field and may assume the reader has some general knowledge of the field.

The most common types of subject reference works are dictionaries and encyclopedias. Frequently the articles in dictionaries are brief while encyclopedia articles are longer and more likely to include a substantial bibliography.

In the Jessie C. Eury Library, reference books have a call number that begins with R and are located on the first floor.

Eerdman's Dictionary of the Bible - Freedman, David Noel Ed.
Call Number: R 220.3 E2698
A Bible dictionary published in 2000 which contains bibliographies for some entries.

Anchor Bible Dictionary - Freedman, David Noel Ed.
Call Number: R 220.3 F853
A six volume Bible dictionary containing thorough entries and bibliographies for some entries.

The Illustrated Bible Dictionary - Douglas, J.D. Ed.
Call Number: R 220.3 IL2
This three volume dictionary is based on the New Bible Dictionary but includes numerous illustrations, charts, and photos to enhance the content.

The International Standard Bible Encyclopedia - Bromiley, Geoffrey W. Ed.
Call Number: R 220.3 IN6 1979
A four volume Bible Encyclopedia containing numerous photographs and charts in addition to thorough articles.

New Bible Dictionary, 3rd Edition - Douglas, J.D. Ed.
Call Number: R 220.3 N532D 1996
A well-regarded Bible dictionary which includes brief bibliographies for most articles.

Eerdmans Commentary on the Bible - Dunn, James D. G. Ed.
Call Number: R 220.7 D9233
This one volume commentary provides a background information on each book of the Bible before providing a brief chapter by chapter commentary.

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Wisdom, Poetry, & Writings - Longman III, Tremper and Peter Enns, Eds.
Call Number: R 221.3 L8565
A dictionary devoted to the wisdom books containing bibliographies and lengthy articles.

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books - Arnold, Bill T. and H.G.M. Williamson, Eds.
Call Number: R 222.03 A752
Most articles in this dictionary are at least one full page and contain thorough bibliographies for assistance with further research.

Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch - Alexander, T. Desmond and David W. Baker, Eds.
Call Number: R 222.103 B1674
A dictionary devoted to the Pentateuch containing thorough bibliographies and lengthy articles.

Dictionary of the Later New Testament & Its Developments - Martin, Ralph P. and Peter H. Davids, Eds.
Call Number: R 225.3 M378
A dictionary covering those New Testament books beyond the Gospels that are written by authors other than the apostle Paul.

Dictionary of New Testament Background - Evans, Craig A. and Stanley Porter, Eds.
Call Number: R 225.9503 E9242 2000
This dictionary focuses on the historical, geographical, and sociological context of the New Testament.

Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels - Green, Joel B. and Scot McKnight, Eds.
Call Number: R 226.03 G796
A dictionary focusing on the life of Christ and the teachings of the Gospels.

Dictionary of Paul and His Letters - Hawthorne, Gerald F. and Ralph P. Martin, Eds.
Call Number: R 227.03 H399
A thorough dictionary focused on the apostle Paul, his writing, and his theology as traced across his writing.

 

Your Librarian

Profile Image
Leslie Starasta
Contact Info
1.217.732.7788 x. 2203
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip